solarbird: (korra-on-the-air)

Make sure people know: DONALD TRUMP says airports will stay fucked until Democrats agree to vote for the Women’s Disenfranchisement (“save”) Act.

Everybody who complains about airports, everyone who complaints about gas prices, anyone who complains about anything: Donald Trump HIMSELF will not let it get fixed UNTIL 21 MILLION WOMEN are disenfranchised through his mass disenfranchisement act.

2 screencaps. On left, Hannah Brandt on X, 4:51pm 22 March:BREAKING: In a phone call just minutes ago President Trump told me Democrats want to make a deal on DHS funding but he doesn't "think any deal should be made on this until they approve save America."First I asked him how long he's prepared to have ice agents help out at airportsHe told me, "For as long as it takes."Then I asked "Some lawmakers are saying they should just fund TSA while they negotiate on DHS. What do you think about that?"President Trump said "Now that I did this the Democrats want to make a deal. And I don't think any deal should be made on this until they approve SAVE America."On right:Shitstain on Shithole Social, Sunday 22 March:I don't think we should make any deal with the Crazy, Country Destroying, Radical Left Democrats unless, and until, they Vote with Republicans to pass "THE SAVE AMERICA ACT." It is far more important than anything else we are doing in the Senate, and that includes giving these same terrible people, the Dems (who are to blame for this mess!), a Five Billion Dollar cut in ICE funding, a deal which, even when disguised as something else, is unacceptable to me and the American people - UNLESS it includes their approval of Voter I.D., (with picture!), Citizenship to Vote, No Mail-In Voting (with exceptions), All Paper Ballots, [anti-trans hate propaganda], and [anti-trans hate propoganda]. Put it all together, and also, let Leader Thune clearly identify those few "Republicans" that are Voting against AMERICA. They will never be elected again! In other words, lump everything together as one, and VOTE!!! Kill the Filibuster, and stay in D.C. for Easter, if necessary. MAKE AMERICA GREAT AGAIN! President DJT

I don’t give a fuck if Fox says it’s not like that, it fucking well is. “RealID” doesn’t count. Name change documents don’t count. Marriage certificates don’t count. Changed your name when you got married? Well, if you didn’t also change your birth certificate or spend a couple of hundred dollars and many hours to get a passport, NO VOTING FOR YOU, BITCH.

Which is exactly how they want it. Way too much of “centrist” media is reporting this as a general effect, but it’s not. It’s targeting women (and trans people) and that’s how they want it, because they don’t want women to vote at all, and they’ve said so a lot since 2020. In the open. In words.

So they need to strap in and hold steady, because we absolutely cannot let that happen.

Donald Trump and the entire Republican Party want only elections if they are guaranteed to win.

Anybody whinges about airports, anybody complaints about gas, remind them: that’s what Donald Trump wants, because he wants to say in power forever.

Posted via Solarbird{y|z|yz}, Collected.

The Receipts Are Paywalled

Mar. 22nd, 2026 03:36 pm[personal profile] elf
elf: Life's a die, and then you bitch. (Gamer Geek)
There is Drama going around in the indie TTRPG community. Some people accuse a game designer of being a jerk, a cheat (someone who doesn't pay contractors, not someone involved in relationship shenanigans), a liar, and weaponizing their fame to harass other people in the community.

Others say the above comments are nothing but hate-speech aimed at a person of a marginalized identity, and this person has written great works and brings creativity and fresh insights to the community at large.

I'd love to figure out which is true, or if they both have elements of truth.

The details are apparently covered in a Rascal article, possibly some posts at Medium, and of course, in multiple Discords. If I joined the right ones, I might be able to find out who actually said what. (I will not be joining any Discords over this.)

I can confirm:
• Creator in question has written some amazing stuff, not only much-lauded but also unique improvements to the TTRPG-sphere
• People I respect (but do not know personally) are calling aforementioned creator a scoundrel and abuser

My analysis )

improvements

Mar. 22nd, 2026 12:57 pm[personal profile] serafaery
serafaery: (Default)
must be less depressed because i just put on makeup and contacts to go see a friend.

:)

I realized a few weeks ago that wearing glasses makes me feel terrrrrrrible, I need to wear contacts more often but I'm on my last pair (made 1 year of them last 2) and I'm overdue for an eye appt to get a refill.

(Hmm I wonder if they would refill them if I just called, I should ask.)

But, I want to try to make an effort to wear them more often. I can't wear them for work but for any social engagement it's really very helpful. Also being in nature. It's just so much nicer not to worry about glass falling off of my face, when bent over examining flowers. Also silks, I really hate not being able to see anyone's faces in the gym.

My stomach is in knots over pulling the trigger on the air conditioner installation contract. It's just so much money. Josh is like, "but it'll be 100 in July" and I keep thinking, "maybe window units could get us through?" uuuughhhh. It's more than I paid for my wedding! lol.

Cynthia makes us bike several miles including downtown. She doesn't know that today is peak cherry blossom day. I am not going to warn her. But I am going to force her to stop for photos when we get there :) Mwahahahaaaaa. (We do NOT have enough photos together.) I will stick flowers in her hair and kiss her face a lot. I love her so much.

let it go.

Mar. 21st, 2026 06:49 pm[personal profile] serafaery
serafaery: (Default)
Just wanted to add, I was feeling really guilty this morning for all of the sad posts here and on insta when I was so depressed for so long. It gives me a sliver of relief to express it, but I don't want to bring anyone down, it's always temporary and it will pass and it doesn't seem meaningful to push out the suffering onto others' eyes who are already struggling under the weight of the dark things of the world. I do even in my darkness try to also post light things, but I need to try harder, or stay more quiet, when I'm that down, or just, post more gently sad things, even when what I'm experiencing is shredding clawing gnawing unbearable pain. It's a ghost. The pain is real but the disease is not reality. It's sooooooooooo hard to believe this when in its grip.
serafaery: (Default)
finally in the filing stage of taxes, it's slow-going but I can see the light, lol.

I took some deeeeep dives into rule pages on the irs website. I just really want to understand the self-employment tax forms as thoroughly as possible.

It sucks that it takes so much time but I just really want to understand that I'm doing everything right.

I know I am too tedious about this stuff. I literally will change things by $3 just to make sure it's as correct as possible, that's not a good use of my time but I like the feeling that I'm doing everything as correctly as humanly possible.

Taking better notes this time so that I don't struggle so much to find next year's info. I also paid an extra $8 for my "free" tax software to pull info from last year for me, I'm sure it's worth it, especially going forward - this year it's still a lot of manual entry due to moving.

I will need to do some IRA contributions before I'm done, I think, so not sure I can finish tonight, but I'll be close! Tomorrow should be the end, unless I hit some unforeseen major snag. So far everything is clicking into place really nicely, just, kinda slowly.

I spent some time with the laptop outside on the back patio and took a walk here and there and have been eating yummy things to keep me going like avocado toast and dried mango.

The eggs from the chickens up the hill are wonderful. Happy chickens! The shells are sturdy, always a good sign. The yolks are bright.

Okay back to it. Avalanche is in heaven with mom around in the house all day, this hasn't happened since my surgery recovery :) Usually I'm either away working, running errands, hiking, dancing, or silks-ing :)

Bienvenidxs a Latam!

Mar. 21st, 2026 09:23 pm[personal profile] maevedarcy posting in [site community profile] dw_community_promo
maevedarcy: van gogh's sunflowers (van gogh)
I've been looking for communities that want to center Latinx culture in their posting but haven't found any so I made one!

[community profile] latam is a new community for people to come together to talk about latinamerican music, films, food, culture, fandom, and more!

Everyone's welcome, no matter where you're posting from! And you can also post in your language (official languages of the community are Spanish, Portuguese and English!)

Come make friends! We have a friending meme going on right now :)

the barbarians in chief

Mar. 21st, 2026 11:16 am[personal profile] solarbird
solarbird: (korra-on-the-air)

Pete Hegseth either has no idea what a pocket square is and/or what it’s for, or he uses the American flag as facial tissue, for blowing his nose. You might point this out to any flag patriots who still worship the shitstain and his minions:

Screen capture from video of Pete Hegseth ejaculating more lies and propaganda from behind a podium, as seen on MSNOW (formerly MSNBC), captioned PENTAGON LEADERS HOLD BRIEFING ON IRAN WAR, and captured by Mary Trump Media for her breaking news segment. In his suit jacket, he has an American flag in the pocket square/handkerchief pocket, because, as a fool and a clown, he has no idea what it actually is or what it's for. I like to think he rubs one out into it, because - let's face it - that's what he thinks of the Republic.

Normally, I probably wouldn’t bother with something this stupid and petty, but they’re trying so hard – so hard – to pretend to be old money and yet have no fucking idea what any of the symbolism means that this basically became a small but perfect snapshot of the sick delusional fraud encompassing literally every aspect of their worthless, filthy lives.

There are nearly infinite reasons to want to punch this cretin directly in the face the moment you see him, this is merely one of many.

But it’s just so completely on the nose, isn’t it?

Just like someone’s fist should be.

Posted via Solarbird{y|z|yz}, Collected.

much adultness

Mar. 21st, 2026 09:28 am[personal profile] serafaery
serafaery: (Default)
Josh was away into the sunrise to go climb with friends at Smith Rock today. Avalanche and I have the house to ourselves!

I am set up in the dining room, ready to tackle taxes. I would LOVE to finish today!

The sunrise was so beautiful. The sky stayed pink and purple for an hour.

I love the new little door mat I got recently. The $3 snowman one I got at the thrift store was disintigrating, and I went for a slightly fancier new one and re-arranged the others and now they all match and fit well where they are, it's pleasant. My eyes are often on my toes so it's comforting when there is beauty there.

I am so pleased with Josh's little cozy corner on the couch, he loves the little space heater I got for that corner (there are two giant windows there so it's hard to keep warm), I researched the best kind that doesn't have any scent and this one is really perfect - the little one in my bedroom always smells a little like plastic but the couch one by Vornado never does.

Avalanche is staying down here with me, resting by her tunnel. Always nearby. My lil velcro cat :)

Had a nice catchup last night with Alessandra, I didn't get any sparkles but she says she will be around more so I will ask again when she's feeling better. I gave her tons. Also got to see Karissa and Ian, I want desperately to sparkle Karissa too but they took off just before we did and really there wasn't time. I will have to catch her again soon. But it was super nice to see them!

I discovered a headlight out and did the youtube thing and went to Autozone and bought a new pair and replaced it myself (they were very kind and gave me disposable gloves for the chore, after offering to help). What a cool feeling it was to turn on the lights and see it light up! The spare one is in my glove box waiting for the other bulb to go out :)

Mood feels fragile but still not low, more like, medium, I will take it!

...

Wanted to mention one thing that happened at the club Thursday. I often dance on the stage there, because there's more room and privacy (in that random people can't just touch me, I don't mind them looking), but I am mindful not to hog it because other people want to go up there for other reasons, and it's also just fun to mingle with the crowd, sometimes.

But because of the way I dress and maybe my confidence, I get a lot of attention and it's not always wanted.

So last night, this guy who's been coming around for a while, maybe my age, I've definitely caught him watching me and smiling more than a little, and he came up and started dancing with me and told me, "I've always thought you are SO beautiful!" which I thanked him for, but, as the song went on, he got closer and closer and sort of got up in my space a bit too much, which was too bad, because he seems nice enough, but it made me uncomfortable and I eventually had to shimmy away to another part of the dance floor, and made my way back to the stage.

Later, I saw him try this again with arguably the prettiest girl in the club. (She also happens to be trans. I only know this because we've talked a few times. She is very passing just visually, if you ignore her height.)

The interaction went more poorly for the guy hitting on her this time. She not only told him no, she told him to leave, and I saw her gesture angrily toward the door.

He immediately backed off, stayed on the other side of the room for a bit, and left after not too much time had passed.

And I just. Need to reflect on the stark contrast of our approaches in handling this guy's unwanted advancements.

I'm not saying either was right or wrong. It's just. I envy her ability to shut him down more forcefully. There's no reason I couldn't do that, it is a safe place for me to express my feelings and I have support there, I was surrounded by friends, Finley and Manders were both still there at the time, along with several other friends, and the staff also always has my back.

Why don't I be more direct and just claim my space?

Sigh.

...

Time to start werkin'.

...

Editing to add: Avalanche is now directly under my feet. :D hashtag velcrocat

The Missing Middle

Mar. 21st, 2026 12:13 am[personal profile] elf
elf: We have met the enemy and he is us. (Met the enemy)
Found a nice gaming article on Bluesky (Three Tiers of RPG Publishing), which led me to another article, which I found insightful and clever (and a bit sad, as accurate talk about economics these days tends to be), and then hit the bit that blew my mind.

They Killed Normal and Called It Progress: "Julia Roberts, Applebee's, Bandcamp, your manager, and the death of everything in between. (Also, Sweetgreen is the A24 of dining and I will die on this hill.)"
Have you noticed that the middle is gone from everything? Restaurants, companies, careers, music, retail, the economy itself. What replaced it is a barbell: one enormous weight on each end, nothing in the center, and most of us trying not to get crushed by the bar.

And the replacement does look better every single time, I grant you that. The A24 film is better than the $40 million adult drama from 2007, yeah, we can all agree on that. The Sweetgreen bowl is better than the Applebee’s chicken parm, sure. Your favorite Substack is sharper than the mid-list magazine that folded in 2019. Every replacement is a genuine upgrade. But every replacement serves fewer and fewer people.
That's not the mind-blowing part. That's the thesis, the baseline, the part that he spends half of the ~3000 word essay explaining, giving examples of, making neat comparisons across different industries.

It's amazing that it doesn't get boring because it truly is the same damn pattern )
solarbird: (pingsearch)

So I’ve been getting my radio game back together, since in adventurous times – particularly times with the possibility of particularly severe emergencies and communications troubles – it’s very good to have access to and practice with backup comms that will work under almost all circumstances.

I’ve also been brushing up on my Amateur radio skills, tho’ really in both cases this comes down to “buying and/or making antennas,” which has meant a bit of both, but particularly making antennas.

I feel like I’ve got the GMRS kit into decent nick. I need to make a longer-term version of the attic antenna rig; while I can do about as well in the highest front window, that setup is somewhat inconvenient and has to be taken down every day. So if I can just have something just set up full time somewhere out of the way, that’d obviously be much better. I’ve got it all worked out at this point, too; all I really need is cable. And to build a functional duplicate of my latest GMRS antenna.

Looking up towards the peak of a roof from inside the attic, a series of beams rise up to a crossbeam upon which sits an antenna going up to the top of the space. A piece of paper pinned to the crossbeam reads "GMRS" indicating that this is the location for the GMRS antenna.

There’s been a bit of a learning curve but at this point I can reach the West Seattle repeater on 15, the Beacon Hill on 16, the Queen Anne on 18 – hugely important, the busiest repeater, an unknown repeater on 19, the Maple Leaf repeater on 20, and the Snohomish repeater on 22. I can also occasionally reach the Redmond repeater on 17, but that’s kind of a best-conditions ping and I don’t know how useful it’d actually be given how weak my signal must be even when it does get picked up.

Also, I’ve gone ahead and coded up North Bend on 21, just to have it there even though there’s no way in hell I’ll ever reach it from here.

Meanwhile, over on the Amateur bands, the new 70cm/2m antenna – this one, I bought – has made a huge difference and really broken me out of my UHF Hole. I’ve been adding Amateur repeaters as I verify I can reach them, and I even managed to get the local 1.25m relay into parrot mode so I know my voice is audible for sure now.

So far tho’ GMRS is much more active, probably because it’s much easier and because the license doesn’t require a test. You can just buy one for $35 and it’s good for 10 years. And it works with FRS which requires no license at all.

It’s also far more limited – no HF component at all, just UHF, just FM, no arbitrary frequencies, just channels and repeaters – but low barrier to entry is most definitely a good thing here.

I’ve got more posts I want to get caught up on but tonight I just wanted to get something – anything, really – out there to celebrate digging my way out of this RF hole which is where I live. So, uh…

RADYA! Yeah! xD

Posted via Solarbird{y|z|yz}, Collected.

feelin' like it's decaf

Mar. 19th, 2026 04:25 pm[personal profile] serafaery
serafaery: (Default)
ah, mood bounced back a bit. Sparkling was lovely, sometimes it's the most wonderful mood booster. This consistently happens when I sparkle people older than 70, Jean will be 80 next year and is amazingly fit, chipper, kind, wise, and all the magical things that only folks that age can offer.

Super tired though, had to pivot to solve problems unrelated to taxes so haven't been able to get to them today yet, and in three hours I need to start getting ready for the club, whoops :)

Guess I'll try again tomorrow! I'll chip away at them as much as I can for a bit while I'm here and settled in for work at the cafe, with a delicious decaf - I have long villainized decaf, but now that I am old it's exactly what I need, haha, how life consistently humbles me :)

Vague headache. A little bit tired and stressed.

Sunrise was beautiful this morning. It rises a little too early for me these days, Avalanche wakes with it and gently mews to let me know when the vivid pinks start showing up.

I have found an immense amount of joy in three recent Huberman Lab videos - the one on hearing loss (the tinnitus info was so enlightening and helpful!), the one on addiction, and I just started one about meditation that is WONderful. I want to get this guy's book maybe (a href="https://www.simonandschuster.com/books/Born-to-Flourish/Richard-J-Davidson/9781668066232">Born to Flourish. (I very much loved his anecdote of the mountaintop monk who explained that he was a monk meditating in remote mountains because he needed to, he thought maybe some people don't need to, but his mind was in some ways weaker, so he needed to do this extreme practice - I love this concept of realizing that one's composition is such that we need meditation or other spiritual/nourishing practices in order to flourish, and that maybe not everyone has the same needs in this regard, we are all different and have different needs and that's okay, and maybe we can give ourselves permission to pursue those practices if we are not flourishing without them.)

Science based meditation tools to improve brain health

How to overcome addiction

Improve and protect hearing

plunge.

Mar. 19th, 2026 09:36 am[personal profile] serafaery
serafaery: (Default)
erf mood crashed this morning, so frustrating. I was meditating with my coffee, a delightful experience, and suddenly got tearful over my mother's hands, and then that orca that carries around her dead calves (why I stopped eating salmon and most all seafood save sardines and clams).

sigh.

I will get through it, I'm just annoyed. It seems like I should not spend 90% of the time depressed. :(

But. I am a work in progress. I will never stop trying. And I have to accept that this is how today will be, and adjust my expectations accordingly.

Sparkling will be a nice distraction, taxes will also serve to keep me occupied. It's a good day to go visit mom's bench in the park, since I'm already too sad for it to make me feel worse, and it might bring some comfort. A grief meditation there might be helpful, today.

Also Shadowplay is tonight! I'm hoping (sorry DJ) that the crowd is a little thin since there was just a big show and my DJ played Tuesday night. Either way, it'll help.

Let's see if I can finish taxes today, that would be amazeballs.

dopamine crashes

Mar. 18th, 2026 04:41 pm[personal profile] serafaery
serafaery: (Default)
Been working outside all day, was at the cafe but got driven out by school kids, so I'm in the back yard on the deck now. I got a lot done on taxes, the a/c stuff, and other work communications, but omg I am flagging. It's just suuuuuuch a pretty afternoon and Avalanche is sooooooooo cute in the daffodils omg and I just want to bask in the warm peacefulness and not do tax forms! lol.

I will get back to it, it's just stressful. I cannot wait for it to be DONE.

Maybe I need to move inside but this is SO NICE lol.

The birds are so cute! I am brushing Avi every day and leaving tufts of fur on the fence for the birds and seeing them grab little bits of it is the best. The Bewick's Wrens are especially busy collecting nesting materials rn. The junco bullies keep pestering them but they come back, undeterred :)
oceangrey: The cover for the album "Public Works and Utilities" by Warrington-Runcorn New Town Development Plan. (planning)
[community profile] warrington_runcorn_ntdp is a new fan-run community focused on the music of electronic project Warrington-Runcorn New Town Development Plan.

Anyone is free to join, even those who have never listened before! Although if that is you, I'd recommend checking out the project's Soundcloud, Bandcamp, and Youtube to get acquainted :D

Discussion on the community will include, but is not limited to, avourite songs/albums/album artwork, physical media, how you discovered the music, recommendations for similar music, etc.

The current rules are pretty standard: no harassment/discrimination against any other Dreamwidth users; no NSFW/explicit content unless it's directly connected to the community's theme; and please keep any posts/comments on topic as much as possible. Anything else can be decided on in the future.

I ([personal profile] oceangrey) am the current only moderator/admin, but if anyone else wants a similar role just message me or comment on the community's pinned post!

Withnail & I communities

Mar. 18th, 2026 09:35 am[personal profile] oceangrey posting in [site community profile] dw_community_promo
oceangrey: Scene from Withnail and I, showing Marwood peering over a newspaper. (Default)
[community profile] withnailandi is a community for everything related to Withnail & I (1987). Fanworks/recommendations, meta/discussions, whatever, all are welcome here! Another related community is [community profile] withnailandinsfw, for any more explicit fanworks/discussions.

Although not entirely new (made in October 2025) both communities are unused as of yet, due to most of the fandom being on other platforms. Feel free to join whether you're a casual fan, or if it's your favourite film of all time, or if you're somewhere in between!

[community profile] withnailandi is open for anyone to join, and [community profile] withnailandinsfw is set to administrator-approved due to the community's content.

sleepy tuesday night

Mar. 17th, 2026 10:26 pm[personal profile] serafaery
serafaery: (Default)
got a lot done on taxes, but still so much more to go. so many added complications this year. self-employment taxation is so difficult to manage. I did get some helpful forms regarding quarterly estimates, that's nice.

mood has dropped from good to okay, but I will take it, it's still sooooo much better than it has been for so many weeks. I still don't have the energy to dance, my DJ is doing a special night to night for an afterparty that would have been super fun. But I have a headache, and a rib that keeps going out and takes my breath away when it's hurting like this. I will snuggle up with a heating pad and call it a day.

Josh and I took a really nice walk before sunset, and met the guy who has all the chickens. Brian. The chickens are so cute. They ran over to check us out when I talked to them.

Maybe I can dance Thursday. I am going to try really hard to get my prep forms completed so that I can work on submitting taxes this week, I'd really love to get this over with by Thursday or Friday at the latest.

The blanket I wanted to buy Natasha isn't available in Canada and I'm sad. It costs more than the price of the blanket to ship it up there, also sad. There is a similar one but the wrong color on the Canadian website, for twice the cost, erf.

I've been obsessed with gifting on my self-care app lately, it allows us to send gifts to other birbs on our "tree." It's addictive.

I'm still using the free version but I would have gladly paid for the "spring cleaning challenge" they had us do, I did all of the challenges and it was extremely helpful, it helped me get over blockages with changing bedsheets and cleaning the toilet (I don't let it get bad but it definitely could use more regular attention), cleaning out the fridge and pantry and wiping down mirrors and light switches, stuff like that I just never do unless I'm in a mad deep cleaning frenzy, and those only happen every six months or so - some of the chores are things I do all the time, like laundry and vacuuming, but things like "throwing out expired toiletries" were really helpful, I found pill bottles from 2018, whoops!

If I paid for the app, I could send more gifts to more friends. I'm not sure if this is distracting me from the goals, though, so I'm still on the fence about buying it. I'll keep thinking about it :) Finch is wonderful either way, really grateful for that little app.
serafaery: (Default)
Was a busy house keeping morning, managing the gutter cleaning and cooking for Josh and tidying up some messes I'd let get away from me, but very productive and I'm now settled in at the cafe with a delicious latte from the incredibly gorgeous and also very sweet barista named Sulema(sp?), she often has spiky metal on her face or hair or clothing and a neat spiky septum piercing but a soft, gentle voice and a big warm smile, she's got a cute pink crop top today, I'm not used to seeing her in a bright color.

I actually feel good for the first time in I don't even know how long. I mean, I've had brief moments here and there of happiness or relief, esp. outdoors when I feel okay or like that moment communing with the earth in the desert in Red Rock Canyon, but this hit me on a bike ride last night and is still here a solid 18 hours later.

It's back to a soft drizzle and overcast skies today but yesterday it was sunny and hit 70. This often happens, where I'm depressed for a long spell late in winter and then it breaks with the first warm sunny day. And I feel embarrassed, as it appears I have the emotional complexity of a plant. Just put me in the sun for a bit and I'll be fine, I guess.

I almost pulled the trigger on getting a SAD lamp a couple weeks ago, still something worth considering. But I'm realizing all of these non-drug tools for depression just barely take the edge off. The really excellent therapist, vitamin D, the daily morning outdoor light (even cloudy) exposure, exercise, sobriety, being in nature, omega 3 supplements, estrogen, friendship/connection, anti-inflammatory foods, dancing, it all does about as much as an aspirin would do for a broken leg. It's not nothing, but I keep thinking if I find the magical combination, or if I consistently do *all* of it, every day, I'll figure this out and fix this chronically uncomfortable condition.

I am going to add in weekly group therapy (same therapist), and I will also incorporate creatine as that apparently might have some benefits. I'll keep trying. What else is there to do.

It was a little discouraging listening to a really interesting episode on Huberman about addiction, he was saying as the brain ages, it's harder to learn new things, including getting addicted to stuff - that is, it's really unusual for someone in their 50s or older to develop a new addiction. It's something that happens when the brain is more plastic.

But this also means that un-learning depression may keep getting more difficult as I age, which is a depressing (ha) thought. I have heard, though, that menopause is especially triggering and that many women experience a big improvement in mood when they complete this transition. Their mental health on average gets better. Here's hoping.

...

I wanted to write about my day, yesterday.

I got up with the sun yesterday and tried (failed) for a favorite lookout tower, fed Avalanche, had my morning light time with the birds, as the sun slowly came out. I have made a routine of brushing Avalanche outside every morning, she absolutely loves it and expects it, now.

I had to pivot when I checked my calendar because I thought I had yesterday off but no, I had a full day of sparkling scheduled. The rest of the week I set aside for taxes, but I did not set aside Monday, I forgot. But I was able to adjust easily and still cooked breakfast and lunch for Josh and myself and baked banana bread and got out the door in plenty of time for work.

I had a nice easy kind fun delightful batch of customers.

During my coffee break, the sun came out in earnest and it was sooooooooo warm, I sat outside and nibbled my snacks and basked in it.

My last customer and I are both the same age and commiserated over our menopause joys, and also were losing our minds over the beauty and warmth of the sunshine. It was fun. I gave her way too many sparkles and was happy to do so. She's going to a music festival at the Sphere in Vegas in a couple of weeks and wanted to be sparkly for it.

Considered going to the park where mom's memorial bench is after work to soak up the sun but that sounded too sad, so I came home instead to ship out a giant order I received that morning, the traffic wasn't too bad and Avalanche was soaking up the sun happily when I got back, Josh decided to show off his new very small battery powered lawn mower for me, he's so cute in his excitement over being able to care for our very small yard, it's sweet. He's allergic to grass so wears an N95 when he mows, pretty cute.

I got my order packaged up and dropped it off at the post office here locally, the Tigard post office is really great, stuff ships faster from here than it ever did when I was in Portland proper. The hours are better, too. Got some much-needed groceries after, and still had some sunshine left when I was done with my chores, so I decided to hop on my bike and try to get up to the water tower on the hill to the east of us before sunset.

This ride involves some pretty steep hills and is a little over 2 miles but has about 500' of elevation gain, maybe a little more depending on the route. So it's not a big ride but it's a really nice little workout.

Everyone was out walking their dogs, the light was beautiful, traffic was light, I took some cute photos at the water tower and the park just below it for Joshter.

Here is a shot of our star magnolia out front:


Arrival to the water tower:


Sunset:


Basking:


This route was something I found by walking, I just wanted to go for a walk one day and aimed uphill until I reached the park. (I found the water tower a bit higher up past the park on my bike later.)

Along this route, is a house with about 30 chickens in their yard. On a dry-erase board in their driveway reads, "farm fresh eggs, $5, in fridge" and there is an old fridge outside under an awning. Josh checked this fridge a month or two ago and found nothing, but it was mid-winter, so I brought a carton and some padding on my ride last night and skipped buying eggs at the grocery store in hopes the ladies may have started laying.

Success!



There were like 10 dozen eggs in there, so this might be our spring/summer egg supply going forward :)

This suburb has no limit on the number of chickens one can have. People have geese and goats and I have smelled signs of other farm animals around on this route. We are definitely not in the city anymore, lol.

...

I was soooooooooooooo happy the rest of the night. I changed my bed sheets and did laundry, ate a beautiful dinner, learned some really interesting things about tinnitis that is really helpful actually for dealing with it, and also hearing loss and protection in general, an interesting podcast on Alzheimer's, sent some messages to some people I care about.

I think part of my joy came from us going on a hike together in the sunshine on Sunday, we had to drive an hour and 40 minutes to get out of the clouds but we did find sun eventually, I took Josh to Columbia Hills state park and we admired the Lewis' woodpeckers and were serenaded by western meadowlarks. It's a little early for wildflowers so there was barely anyone out there, so we had a lovely lunch by ourselves on a boulder with a gorgeous view of the river and the mountain. Home made pizza and pumpkin pie (I baked it for pi day). Afterward we crossed the road to Horse Thief Butte and Josh got some bouldering in, my little monkey:


(he had the crash pad below him, and was climbing things he was fully capable of climbing. But still. eep!)

Horse Thief Butte is gorgeous, we had fun scrambling around and enjoying views of the Columbia Gorge, the weather turned and dropped a couple of tiny raindrops on us but nothing bothersome, it was a really pretty place to just hang out and watch Josh climb stuff. I encouraged him to do one that was a little spicy and he got a surge of adrenaline, I'm glad he pushed himself, I think it's really good for his well-being, it was nothing he couldn't handle but he had to work at it. It was fun to watch.

...

small food-related rant )

...

I worry about Josh a little bit. My sex-drive is still nonexistent and I thought I might have overheard him crying a little bit last night, after trying to test out whether I might be feeling sexy last night. He saw me all happy and glowing from the bike ride and got hopeful. But I still don't feel anything. And it's really not as easy as I would hope to just mess around with him in other ways even though I'm not feeling it. It's revolting and I wish that weren't the case. Poor thing. I wish I could fix it. I am trying. I went back to using creams and suppositories again to try to help. They don't always do anything, but if I don't use them I definitely have less of a chance of getting there. It's super frustrating, because not wanting sex also makes me not want to want it, somehow? My body doesn't want me to use the creams and stuff, it just wants me to let it be left alone and untouched. It's super difficult to force myself to try to "fix" it. When everything in my body just wants this part of my life to no longer exist. It's a hard experience to talk about or describe or explain. I don't miss sex or feeling sexy or feeling desire, but I am sad for my partner. I feel guilty and like I'm letting him down.

...

It's interesting to me that I have become so much more functional in the last two years - I blame therapy directly for this - I am better at keeping up with the house, I'm better with big scary financial things like BUYING A HOUSE omg, better at dealing with difficult family members and avoiding people who mean me harm, SO much better with the mild emotional hoarding issues (they're still there but so much more manageable), better at dealing with medial stuff to some extent (I do need to schedule a blood draw and my colonoscopy and have been delaying those for long enough), I'm doing my own taxes now, work is going well, friendships and relationships are solid. My therapist noted that I did a good job standing up for myself and holding a boundary in Vegas when I asked to try a different room when our first unit smelled so badly of cleaning chemicals, and didn't make a fuss even when Josh criticized me for not handling that situation better (yes I used some dramatic language about it making me sick, I may have verbalized the possibility of sleeping in the car, but my voice was never raised and I only asked to try and see if another room might be better, never that I would throw a fit if I didn't get what I wanted).

But I'm still so completely broken in other ways. I can't keep up with laundry, my room/office/closet bathroom in the house is still not set up and half in boxes and totally neglected and I continue to avoid dealing with it, I still can't brush my teeth or shower consistently or floss, or wash my face, I struggle to keep up with medications and supplements still (even though the last two days have been better, aside from forgetting my vitamin D and my estrogen yesterday, sigh), I am not great at keeping up with people socially face to face, though I am getting better at messaging, I still collapse into a puddle in waves of overwhelming grief regularly, my depression is soooooooooooooooooooooo bad I have to drag myself through most of my days - this is the first day that hasn't felt like that in forever - I'm addicted to saltines randomly (I am trying to detox from them this week), I have been crawling into bed and avoiding life by 8pm every night for weeks. (Last night was the first night in a very long time I was up until maybe 9:30pm.) So much of everyday function feels too hard for me to manage, even though I'm so much better than I was, in other ways. So frustrating and confusing.

...

I am still on the fence about whether home ownership was a good idea or not. I paid like $300 for gutter cleaning today, I will have to do that annually. There is a little bit of water seepage in the crawl space, I will have to mitigate that for mold annually. I am getting all kinds of pressure to replace the furnace. So many thousands of dollars of maintenance every year. People act like renting is throwing away money but I don't think people are factoring in the cost of maintenance when they pencil out ownership vs renting. This suuuuuuuuuuuuuuux lol.

I LOVE having a yard for Avalanche, though. Her quality of life has improved dramatically and she is exponentially happier, it's obvious. I enjoy not worrying about lead paint whenever another cupboard starts to chip. It's really nice having our own laundry that is not coin operated and actually gets our clothes clean. And the dishwasher is pretty magical.

There are downsides but I won't get into it too much. It's double the driving for me. I just am not sure it pencils out, but am trying really hard to focus on the good bits. We enjoy the westerly view from Josh's rooms, and I'm grateful for my new cat sitters.

...

I still need to decide what to do about air conditioning, but today is for taxes, time to get working on those.
arethinn: glowing green spiral (Default)
The words Shining Hearth in a calligraphic font. Between the two words there is a hearthfire with rainbow-colored flames and a seven-pointed star.

General registration for Shining Hearth will close in 10 days, on March 26th. Nothing formal is planned for that evening, but it is a low-key "lobbycon" as people check in, take a look around, and say hello. Arethinn may stream a mythic- or fae-themed game around 8-10 PM Pacific time or so. Register here to attend the gathering!

https://www.shininghearth.net
flareonfury: (Crossover)





[community profile] galorechallenge is a returning Crossover Fic Challenge from LiveJournal where you would find a crossover, grab a prompt & start writing! NO CLAIMING NESSARY! Post your story to the community (or at least link to it) once you're done. Feel free to grab more than one prompt, and more than one crossover! There are no limits on how much you can write per round. Check out the rules for more information.
Also once the round ends, we'll vote on our favorites by fandom & you can get a fancy award. Or if there is only 1 crossover for a particular fandom, it will move on to the next round.
While it is a multi-fandom challenge, and SO MANY fandoms are allowed, there are some restrictions, so check out the fandoms currently allowed.
Round 14 is open until June 30, 2026 @ 11:59 EST.

Rules & FAQ | Prompts | Submit New Prompts/Crossovers |
mark: A photo of Mark kneeling on top of the Taal Volcano in the Philippines. It was a long hike. (Default)

Happy Saturday!

I'm going to be doing a little maintenance today. It will likely cause a tiny interruption of service (specifically for www.dreamwidth.org) on the order of 2-3 minutes while some settings propagate. If you're on a journal page, that should still work throughout!

If it doesn't work, the rollback plan is pretty quick, I'm just toggling a setting on how traffic gets to the site. I'll update this post if something goes wrong, but don't anticipate any interruption to be longer than 10 minutes even in a rollback situation.

shadows whisper.

Mar. 12th, 2026 09:16 pm[personal profile] serafaery
serafaery: (Default)
It's ten minutes until it's too late to think about getting into the shower and getting ready for Shadowplay. It's been at least a month since I've gone. I just don't see making it happen, tonight. I thought about it all day and planned for it all day, but, I'm so out of the habit.

I think a lot of my tearfulness would be abated if I went. I don't know why this is so, but it has been my experience.

I think I need to dance.

But I hate the feeling of being in my body, right now, I don't want anyone to see me. And I can't dance when I feel like this.

It just sucks.

It's possible if I take a shower I will feel less horrible when I get out and dry my hair. I could try that and then see if I really can't do it.

If I knew I didn't have to interact with anyone it would be easier.

I always feel outside and on the periphery of things. Not really a part of it. But I kind of prefer it this way. It feels somehow safer. There is always an escape.

I told Josh tonight, I don't want to go, but I want to have gone.

I don't have to work tomorrow so I can stay as late as I want. That's always a plus.

It's Ophelia's birthday so the attention will be on her, but also Derek will be drunk and the music will be half blah.

I don't want to deal with humans.

I am raw dogging it sober and it's hard, days like this.

..

I can tell when I am extra depressed because every sentence I write here begins with "I" - it is a very inward-facing disease. I am ashamed of how self-centered it makes me. It's ugly and gross and I'm sorry. I want to get back to facing outward. Trying to look out, look up, look anywhere but here.

..

I have had a lot of different kinds of awful things happen to me. Lots of my life has been magical and beautiful, too.

But sometimes something triggers a memory of one of these viscerally painful events, like this morning when I was doing makeup and remembering a day visiting my grandmother as she lay slowly taking years to die, miserably and feeling abandoned and alone (she told me this. there was a point in time when mom stopped visiting but I, in my early 20s, insisted on continuing to go see her, by myself) in a "care" home that didn't have anything beyond the bare minimum of care. The sleep I was pulling out of one of my eyes reminded me of the sleep caught in her eyes and stuck to her eyelashes.

And that loss and the emotions around it just slammed into my chest like a wrecking ball, and I started to sob, and could not stop, for several minutes, with ribcage thudding sobs and tears pouring down my face.

My grief is compounded, because of so many other losses, so many of them infinitely painful, watching parents die penniless and in misery is not recommended, especially after watching it happen to grandparents and not having other family support or connection to sustain one through the loss. I had my brother, but, he became too painful to be around for other reasons. (He kept taking money. Among other chronic emotional problems.) My second mother, my ice skating coach, died from cancer in her early 60s. I've lost multiple friends to cancer, each loss it gets harder to be the one left breathing.

....

Another acquaintance lost a parent recently, and immediately gained a house. This is someone I felt a camaraderie of sorts with in the past, because we were both low income and struggling in similar ways. I am happy for her and so glad things are improving for her, but. I did not get a house when my parents died. So part of me feels weirdly betrayed by the feeling that we were on the same footing, before. We were not. I am sorry for her loss, and I am happy for her improved living situation, I am so glad she will be okay, but, also, a little jealous. It feels petty and childish. Also I do have a supportive wonderful spouse now and have zero to complain about. And so many people have it so much worse than I do. I know I am fortunate and should count every blessing a thousand times over. I know this.

But my body doesn't know that I am safe yet.

uuugghhhhh it's well past nine. What to doooooooooooo.

It's just soooooo tempting to snuggle back into the world's most peaceful bed. To save my ears from the worsening tinnitus. To hide my unattractive figure. I just want to sleeeeeeeeeep foreveeeeeeeeeeer.

..

I was thinking today that I would probably not have anti-natalist tendencies if it weren't for the fact that my parents made me feel as if I was a failure and not worth the effort they put into raising me. And that I should be more mindful to give grace to people who are not anti-natalist. It's probably not in my control, to feel this way, nor theirs, to feel differently. I almost never vocalize my anti-natalist feelings, it's not an acceptable feeling to express. It's not welcome. It would be like admitting to atheism (which I also am) but worse. I hide a lot of myself from most of the world. Not here though. I'm vaguely ashamed of myself. I wish I felt differently. I wish I felt better.

I don't know if going out would help. It sucks not going, but I know better than to push myself when I don't feel well, I will definitely regret that, too. It should be something to look forward to, not a chore.

Going to the club at age 50 is a lot different than going at 30 or 40.

...

When I do regular grief meditations, I don't get slammed in the chest out of the blue right before a full work day with unbearable sadness. I have been avoiding it, for weeks. This is a good lesson. To prioritize it. It's such a hard balance though, because if I focus on it too much, that's also unhealthy.

I will sit quietly and ask my heart what's best.

I think I need a new kind of shadowplay.

characters20in20 Round 21

Mar. 12th, 2026 02:41 pm[personal profile] reeby10 posting in [site community profile] dw_community_promo
reeby10: grey scale voldemort from shoulders up with a crown doodle above his head (harry potter)


Link: Round 21 Sign Ups | Round 21 Themes

Description: [community profile] characters20in20 is a 20in20 community dedicated to making icons of characters from movies and tv shows. You have 20 days to make 20 icons about a character of your choice, based on a set of themes for the round.

Schedule: Round 21 sign ups are open NOW. Icons are due March 30, 2026.
serafaery: (Default)
This is very boring personal reflection/organization stuff, probably of no interest to anyone but myself. I would not expect anyone to bother reading, but, hi.

Feeling a lot better this morning. Had decaf at the cafe while working on taxes yesterday, so my sleep was better than if I'd had an afternoon latte.

Had a nice morning with the cat, catching up on dishes and sitting with my coffee outdoors in the freezing cold rain, under cover, with a cat on my lap.

I fixed the canopy over her cat door so the table there that she uses to get in and out is protected from the weather, as is she, right in that spot in the side strip of the yard (we have just gravel on the side strips which is fine. Offers her more shelter and safety, just in case of raptors at night or some such. It took me some time and expense and effort to get it right but I'm happy with it now, it's waterproof and shedding rain nicely.

At the apartment, on days like this, to get my morning outside time, I would sit on the steps under a big deodar cedar tree, which shelters most of the rain if it's a light rain like this. I would be a little wet and cold but it was doable. I would say hi to the dogs that passed by, and Avalanche would stare at me through the window. Now she can join me, I can sit in a chair, we can watch the birds together and I can have my coffee without perching on concrete and leaning to the side awkwardly anytime anyone needed to use the stairs. I miss the tree, but this is nicer.

I feel so lucky to live this life and have these relaxed mornings. Safe and cozy.

My body has yet to believe I am safe but I am enjoying this newfound state of existence as best I can. Even improvements in life take adjustment.

The daffodils are so cheerful. I've been picking the flopped over ones and bringing them inside, it's quite the bouquet in the kitchen, a bright burst of yellow happiness.

I'm still bundled in my puffy coat and hat but my hands are warm again, after getting frozen outside, and I'm sipping collagen coffee. I tried another brand and it seems good. I got some ancient nutrition a couple months ago that was rancid so I'm really careful about sourcing this stuff, as it's really my only consistent source of animal protein. vital proteins seems like the best quality so far but this is garden of life and it's fine.

...

The weather is miserable but that's what indoors is for. It's that bone chilling wet cold and icy rain all day long. We're getting dumped on Thurs/Friday, glad I'm working Thursday and Friday I can hunker down and maybe push to wrap up taxes. It's gutter cleaning day, I feel bad for them, it was supposed to be yesterday but they rescheduled. At least they'll have an idea of where water is blocked?

...

Surgical site bothers me less and less. My body still feels uncomfortable generally, but I can deal.

...

much I want to do today:

* cook something for Josh
* silks
* taxes work
* measurements and photos for Dave for silks rigging
* henna hair
* shower
* doodling
* grief meditation
* walk outdoors (bring a raincoat)
* housework (laundry, clean up stuff from the trip/put away rock climbing stuff, it's time to vacuum, sweep front entryway, litter box scooping, etc.)
* get groceries/cat food on the way home

* ask some questions about the a/c installation process (such as: if the furnace dies in a few years, can we reasonably expect to find one that is compatible with the new a/c we installed? We're having a hard time deciding whether to replace our perfectly functional 26yo furnace when we do the a/c, since it's about half the price of getting a new furnace separately later. I have a lot of aversion to replacing old things that still work, and have read online that people have Trane gas furnaces that are much older than this still going strong, the most important thing is good installation and maintenance which appears to be on our side with this one. The previous owner was using metal filters for it, which is great for the motor, but not as good for air quality. This is just one of many issues I have to consider in this decision and it's a new and stressful and the most money I've ever spent on anything aside from last year's roof. Whole house central a/c costs more than my car. It's a little confusing why that would be, but, here we are. I also need to consider potential rat penetration areas if they are going to cut holes in our house - the last tech was talking about a small drain for the condensation for the a/c; a 3" hole in the wall is an open invitation to the rats to come inside, if it isn't done right.)

...

Should share some photos from the Red Rock Canyon trip, we had some nice hikes out there. The Nevada mountains have a lot to offer, and Red Rock Canyon is beautiful.

...

Trying to debate if it's worth it to spoil myself and pay for the upgraded version of the self-care app I use (Finch). It seems silly to pay for it when the free version works perfectly well, but the plus features do make it more fun and it's not that much, in the grand scheme of things. I just feel slightly annoyed that several of my friends that I invited to join paid immediately and I feel like, I've given that app so much money indirectly already. But it is a really nice app. I use it to stay off of facebook, instagram, and youtube - I still visit those areas but much less frequently now. And it really helps me organize my housework and other adulty tasks, as well as helping me to take my vitamins and stop and look at the sky and other really helpful self-care exercises.

chilly tuesday.

Mar. 10th, 2026 07:42 pm[personal profile] serafaery
serafaery: (Default)
was able to get a decent amount of work done on taxes today, I'm nowhere near done but I made some slow but steady progress. Also got another central air conditioner quote. still a lot to sift through and consider before we choose a contractor and unit and whether or not to save money ahead of time and upgrade our furnace (it's about half the cost of the furnace to add a new one to the a/c install, vs wait for it to die and do it separately later) or just try to limp along with what we have (it's 26 years old), but gathering all the info I can, feels arduous and very adult.

I just wish I felt better.

Everything still feels like it did before Las Vegas and during Las Vegas. Every day, all day, feels like swimming against the current. I had a really bad day at work Monday, my first two ladies are wonderful but the rest of the day folks just really raked me over the coals, it's hard to explain but sometimes people just sap every ounce of energy from me and then they somehow take more. Afterward something happened with my period that I won't go into but just let's put it this way, my ladybits are totally foreign to me and do things that have never happened before and spring very uncomfortable surprises on me that ruin my day and my underwear and render me unable to take a necessary decompression walk in the park because I have an accident to deal with in my pants. It really is like puberty in reverse sometimes. Whose boob is this. Whose crotch is this. Whose saggy face is this. Whose swollen arthritic fingers are these. This feels terrible and alien and unpleasant. And we wonder why I don't have a sex drive.

...

I couldn't make myself do silks today and I just didn't have it in me to take the window of no rain to ride my bike. I know exercise is good for me but I felt like I just needed a down day. I will do silks tomorrow and hopefully find a way to walk or something, even if it's rainy. It's too stormy to go to the mountain or the coast and it's threatening to freeze. But. I have a raincoat.

I want to decompress with some wildlife videos and then maybe roast a winter squash that's been on my porch since October. It's in perfect shape, but I don't know if this breed of pumpkin is very tasty? Or if six months is too long for the flavor to last. It's a really pretty pale blue color, from the organic pumpkin patch.

...

I got sad the other day because I was doing one of my self-care app exercises, "think of a favorite memory" and an image of getting drunk with cynthia and natasha popped up. No more of that for meeeeee. I wondered for a few hours if maybe sobriety is the wrong choice for me, but instead I think better to say, a) I'm happy to have those memories, and b) I can drink occasionally and pick and choose my indulgence with alcohol if I really want to. I am handling it really well and I think I can manage that. Last year I drank 3 times. None of those pushed me over any sort of edge. I got this. I do just have to remember that my tolerance is nowhere near what it once was, not only because of the sobriety but because of menopause and my age.

...

Need a grief meditation sesh tonight I think. Been thinking too much about mom and death too much again, all the people I've lost, it's too much. It never stops and I am acutely aware of my mortality at all times, but sometimes it gets worse.

...

I'm grateful to be home with my kitty.

Profile

arethinn: glowing green spiral (Default)
Arethinn

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516171819 2021
22232425262728
293031    

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags

Style Credit

Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 07:02 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios